Tags

, , , , ,

I’m 5’2″ tall. That’s pretty short. In some respects, this fact makes things easier when it comes to my Regency gown search. I don’t have to worry much about dresses being long enough, and you can always make a gown shorter. It’s a lot harder to make one longer. My height also means that I’m probably going to have to shorten just about any maxi dress I buy.  Fortunately, I have now discovered that it’s not really all that hard to do a quick hem on a skirt. Readers may recall this dress from the post I wrote when it arrived.

Image

There was very little that it needed to make it Regency worthy. But of course, as is usually the case, it was way too long, about 4.5″ too long as a matter of fact. That is a problem no more. I shortened the skirt and lining by said 4 plus inches all by hand of course and I’m quite pleased with myself. Here it is on my person with foundation pieces underneath and my pink leather gloves and pink fan for accessories. Sorry about the flash reflected in the glass behind me. I only had ten seconds to get into position!

Image

Now I feel like I’m up to the task of shortening the ball gown as well since I have this one under my belt for practice. My other two dresses are the perfect length.  The combination of the corset and my balconette bra do a really good job of lifting and separating by the way. The corset turned out to be a good purchase. I suppose, if I don’t want to be thought “fast”, I am going to have to come up with something that will pass as a bodiced petticoat. I’ll just have to see what I can find.