Tags

, , ,

It’s been a little while since my last post. My little family went on a weekend getaway to Chicago, so I couldn’t be bothered. It has been even longer still since I posted anything about my wardrobe escapades. That is mostly due to the fact that I’ve been doing boring alterations to gowns and whatnot. It has been productive (I got my ball gown shortened), but hardly exhilarating. Finally some fun stuff has come my way in the last few days. So hold onto your hats and take a look at mine.

Image

Brown Feathered Cross Between a Turban and a Bucket Hat of Sorts

Image

Delightfully Whimsical Blue Feathered Top Hat

Image

Adorable Teal Bonnet/Hat Hybrid

I’m working on creating 2 bonnets from scratch, and it’s fun and bonnets are adorable and all, but I’m not really a big fan of bonnets. Some of them are really great, and they are often really beautiful, but they’re just not me. I have a soft spot in my heart for hats. I’m a fan of them in modern everyday life just as much as I am a fan of them in Regency history. One of the most delightful things about Regency fashion in my opinion is the vast assortment of hats and bonnets women wore; from the most masculine to the frothiest of feminine headgear. It was basically a hat free-for-all. I see that aspect of my Regency wardrobe project as the most open to interpretation. It also makes it the hardest thing to NOT spend money on. I think I may have almost as much money in hats and bonnets as I do in everything else.

The photos I’ve posted here do these lovely hats no justice whatsoever. In the near future, I intend to give myself a Regency inspired coiffure and model these hats appropriately, but probably not until my bonnets are fully trimmed and I can do it all at once. I would encourage you to look into Regency hat fashions if you’re not already familiar, and wonder, as I do, at the gamut of possibilities. The accessories really are the best part of this whole exercise.