Tags

, , , , ,

I finished!! By 8:30 last night I was packing away the sewing machine and packing my gowns and accessories into my suitcase. I got everything done with hours to spare and I will not have to do any sewing during the drive down to Kansas City today. I do reserve the right, however, to make a petticoat in my hotel room while I’m there though. I packed the fabric and a small sewing kit just in case.

I ended up creating 2 dresses, a lace petticoat, an open robe, 2 hats and a reticule starting on August 29th and sewing here and there when I had an hour or so to spare. I’m quite proud of myself. I’m never this relaxed just before an event. I’m usually in a scramble.

So anyway, here are the photos.

First is a white gown with lace sleeves and a big wide lapel. Underneath is a petticoat made of the same lace as the sleeves that just peaks out beneath the skirt at the bottom. This dress was my biggest challenge to date. I had to figure out in my mind how to construct it from my generic bib front gown pattern. I cut the bodice freehand hoping that the lapels would work out and knowing I had extra fabric if they didn’t. Though this was created from a bib front gown pattern, there is no bib on this. It’s all kind of a big illusion with a wide ribbon sash to hide the secrets. Of course both pieces of fabric in this ensemble come from two separate sets of curtains found in second hand stores.

20180925_184956

20180925_184924

20180925_184939

My second gown is a dress/open robe combo. The base gown is made from a set of sheer curtains and has a lacey overskirt, also made from a set of curtains. The open robe is made from the second panel of a set of drapes, of which I made a spencer to go over my sari ballgown with the first panel. This was a slightly more straight forward sew. On the dress itself, the only deviation from my bib front gown pattern is the double skirt. I also kind of free formed the 3/4 sleeves. I’m particularly happy with how the sleeves on the open robe look over the sleeves of the gown, and of course my little flower embellishments. I think this might be my favorite of all the costumes I’ve done. I think I was actually glowing when I modeled it for my husband last night.

20180925_172034

20180925_172050

20180925_172057

Last night was actually pretty leisurely for the night before the trip. The only sewing I had to do were the two hats and the reticule. They are all very basic and quickly and easily thrown together. In fact, don’t look too closely at the reticule. It does not bear scrutiny 🙂 But it will hold my cell phone, room key and cash at the ball Saturday night.

20180925_203827

In about 45 minutes from now, my ride to Kansas City should be here. Everything is safely tucked away in my suitcase by the door. Gosh, I feel so relaxed!

Next up will be pictures of me actually wearing all my dresses and a little recap of this year’s JASNA AGM. So looking forward to the “Persuasion” theme.