Tags

, , , ,

My closet runneth over. For my second post back from hiatus, I thought I would just give an update on the acquisitions I’ve made recently. These photos aren’t very flattering to the gowns. In the near future I’ll try to talk my husband into taking some photos of me wearing them. But until then, here we go…

1. Open Robe with Brown Embroidery

Brown Embroidered

It’s a pretty simple cotton dress that buttons in front at the bodice and is open down the front. The intriguing factor is the embroidery all over the garment. I thought it something a little “different” to my collection. All that needs to be done is to take it in a little at the bodice. Otherwise, it’s ready to wear.

2. White Muslin with Green Embroidery

Green Embroidered

This feels like a muslin, but a heavier type muslin, definitely a winter garment. It’s a little difficult to see here, but it is an empire waist. I think I may need to define the waistline with a green ribbon to match. Otherwise this one is going to need to have the zipper removed and buttons or another type of closure put in.

3. White Dotted Swiss

White Swiss Dot

I love a swiss dot. I’m not sure what the appeal is, but I’m a fan. Also, I adore this shade of yellow. It’s so so bright and lemony. This dress is extra special because it was given to me by one of my fellow Jane Austen Society members. She made it by hand for her first wedding and has kindly handed it off to me to incorporate into my project. Amazingly the dress fits like a glove. Even the length is perfect. So, again, all that needs to happen here is the removal of zipper and insertion of buttons.

4. Masks

Masks

When I was growing up, my mother owned a womens clothing store. She retired many years ago, but apparently she just couldn’t kick the retail habit. So now in her retirement she helps run a charity shop. These three masks came through said shop and she snapped them up for me thinking I might have some use for them. I love them. I can only hope that I have the opportunity to attend a masquerade some day so I might put them to use. I especially love that the bottom mask actually ties with ribbons as they did back in the day rather than the elastic strap we’re used to now.

So I have a lot of gowns, which is great. But it also means that I have a lot of work to do. I also have a deadline of sorts on at least some of these projects. I will need to have a dress or two completed before the JASNA AGM in October. It might be nice to have a dress to wear to the “Emma” themed tea we’re attending in September. Wish me luck.